Chair history

Research traditions and the basic directions of educational activities of the department, that had the name «department of History of Russian and foreign literature» up to September 2007  were forming over many decades. It is the oldest department of the Faculty of Philology. It was founded  as department of language and literature in 1935.

Two years later, in 1937, Kazakh State University formed a branch of English and Western literature. Study of Russian literature and Russian language were developing in  parallel directions. In 1938 department of Russian language and literature was opened in the separation from Department of History of Russian literature. In 1941  the Department of Russian and foreign literature was organized, transformed in 1944 into the Department of World Literature.

In 1959, both scientific directions: the study of global and Russian literature consolidated under the aegis of the Department of History of Russian and foreign literature, which existed until 2007. In September 2007 the Department was merged with the department of theory of the world literature and folklore. In September 2008 as a separate structural unit was formed Department of Russian and world literature.

In 2011, the Department reorganized into the Department of Russian Philology, Russian and world literature by merging into a single structural unit of the three departments of the Faculty of Philology: Russian and world literature, Russian philology and Russian language. These departments, having significant scientific, research, educational and methodological expertise for many years occupied a key place in the history of philology.

Today the head of the Department of Russian Philology and world literature is the Corresponding Member of National Academy of Science of Republic of Kazakhstan, PhD, Professor Dzholdasbekova Bayan Umirbekovna.

The first head of the Department of Russian language and Russian literature was A.Y. Andruzsky, associate professor (1938-1943), and since 1943 the department was headed by Professor Nahum Yakovlevich Berkovsky, scientist in the field of Romano-Germanic literature, the author of a series of research papers on romantic Western literature. Officially, the first head of the Department of Russian and foreign literature, became an assistant professor and later PhD, Professor Shal'nikov Alexander Gerbstman, leading scientist of Balzac’s study. At various stages of the department was headed by well-known scientists who have left their mark in the Russian and Kazakh science. Associate Professor Tatyana Vladimirovna Posse, the daughter of well-known Russian publicist, began her educational work at Kazakh State University in 1939. As a graduate of History and Philology of the famous Bestuzhev courses, she completed it in 1912, she spoke fluent English and French. Prior to coming to Alma-Ata in 1933, she worked in various institutions in the direction of the People's Commissariat. In 1944, she defended her PhD thesis "The ideas and images in the works of D. Mamin-Sibiryak" in the Council of the Kirov Kazakh State University, from 1944 to 1956 acting as a Head of the Department of Russian and foreign literature.

Since 1962 till 1966 the Department of Russian and foreign literature was led by Faina Ivanovna Steklova, who graduated literary department of the Kalinin State Pedagogical University and defended PhD thesis on the early works of Adam Mickiewicz in 1949, her constant research priority was the theme of ethnic literary relations.

Since 1966 to 1970 intermittently the Department of Russian and foreign literature was headed by Mikhail Vasilievich Madzigon. A graduate of the first set of KazGU postgraduate course students on Western literature, in 1963 defended his PhD thesis "Realism of early works of Charles Dickens." Between 1962 and 1972 acting heads of the Department of Russian and foreign literature performed by scientist, worked at the university many years, and found themselves at the department temporarily: Malovichko Alexander Lazarevic, Gabdirov Ileuken Hamidullinovich, Kendybaev Fayzulla Burasovich.

About twenty years (from 1972 to 1991), the Department led by PhD, Professor Kal’sim Shakirovna Kereeva-Kanafieva, as M.V. Madzigon, the 1941’s graduate of the department of Philology. Prior to that, in 1937-1938 she studied at pedagogical working faculty of Omsk. Entered postgraduate course of KazGU in 1945, in 1946, she was assigned to the postgraduate course of the Leningrad State University. In 1946 as assistant at the Department of Russian and foreign literature, Kal’sim Shakirovna successfully defended her PhD thesis "The Kazakhs in Russian literature and journalism 1730s-1840s", in 1973 - his doctoral dissertation on "The Russian-Kazakh literary relations" in the Divisional Council of the Leningrad State University.

Outstanding contribution to strengthening the scientific authority of the department in the country and abroad made by PhD, Professor Bagizbaeva Maya Mikhaylovna. In 1985 graduated from the Faculty of Philology of Lomonosov Moscow State University. Maya Mikhaylovna defended her doctoral thesis on "Folklore of Semirechensk Cossacks", headed the Department of Russian and foreign literature in 1991, Maya Mikhaylovna always been actively involved in scientific and social life of the community: a member of the Academic Council of the Faculty, the Chairman of the Dissertation Council of K14, A.01.24, a member of the Specialized council for doctoral dissertations defending under NAS RK, academician of the HS, a member of the Academic Council of the University, a presidium member of the Women's Union under the President of RK and Chairman of the Women's Union of Kazakh State University. In exchange for many years of hard work, by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Kazakh SSR, she was awarded the medal, "Veteran of Labour", for services in the field of higher education of the USSR - breastplates decorations "for Excellence in work" and "Honored worker of science and technology."

Sagalovich Svetlana Mikhaylovna a graduate of the Philology Faculty of Kirov Kazakh State University in 1960. From 1999 till 2002 was acting as a head of the Department of Russian and foreign literature. In 1984 she defended her thesis on «Principles of artistic reflection of Kazakh reality in the works of A.S. Sorokin».

Ashimhanova Svetlana Ashimhanovna, PhD., professor, led the department from 2002 to 2005. In 1967 was a postgraduate student of Lomonosov Moscow State University and successfully defended a thesis. In 1999 defended doctoral thesis in literary theory "Poetic of G. Musrepov’s prose", published a monograph "World of Gabit Musrepov" noted by first Ch. Valihanov’s award in the field of humanities in 2002.

In 2005-2007, the department was led by Abisheva Ulbolsyn Kurmangalievna, a graduate of Philology Faculty of Kazakh State University, received her PhD under the supervision of Professor M. Bagizbaeva. In 2006 defended doctoral in the Specialized Council of MSU "Neo-realism in Russian literature of 1900-1910s."

Since 2008, now heads the Department of Corresponding Member of NAS RK, Doctor of Philology, Professor Bayan Umirbekovna Dzholdasbekova, a graduate of the Faculty of Philology KazGU. In 2002, she successfully defended her thesis "Artistic originality epic prose I.P. Shukhov" and in 2006 - his doctoral thesis " Russian prose epic of Kazakhstan 20 -70- ies of XX century ." Bayan Umirbekovna actively involved in academic and social life of the university: a member of the Dissertation Council D14A.02.22 to award the degree of Doctor of Philology at the Kazakh National University. Al-Farabi member of the Academic Council, the chairman of the Union of Women Treasury. Professor Dzholdasbekova - Winner of the Republican contest and the winner of the grant MES "Best teacher of high school" (2008) , " The best teacher of Kazakh National University" (2009). For hard work was awarded the honorary title "75 years of Kazakh National University" diplomas.

Bagizbaeva M.M., HSRK academician, PhD, Professor

История кафедры

Научно-исследовательские традиции и основные направления педагогической деятельности кафедры, до сентября 2007 г. носившей название кафедры истории русской и зарубежной литературы, складывались на протяжении многих десятилетий. Это старейшая кафедра филологического факультета, т.к. датой ее рождения является 1935-й год, когда в Казахском государственном университете была создана кафедра языка и литературы.

Спустя два года, в 1937-м, сформировано отделение английского языка и западноевропейской литературы. Направление изучения русской литературы и русского языка развивалось параллельно: в 1938 г. была открыта кафедра русского языка и русской литературы, из состава которой выделилась кафедра истории русской литературы. На ее основе в 1941 г. организована кафедра русской и зарубежной литературы, преобразованная в 1944 г. в кафедру всеобщей литературы.

В 1959 г. оба научных направления: изучение мировой и русской литературы - объединились в одно под эгидой кафедры истории русской и зарубежной литературы, существовавшей до 2007 года. В сентябре 2007 г. кафедру объединили с кафедрой теории мировой литературы и фольклористики. В сентябре 2008 г. в качестве отдельного структурного подразделения сформирована кафедра русской и мировой литературы.

В 2011 г. кафедра преобразована в кафедру русской филологии, русской и мировой литературы путем слияния в одно структурное подразделение трех кафедр филологического факультета: русской и мировой литературы, русской филологии и русского языка. Эти кафедры, обладая значительным научным, исследовательским, педагогическим и методическим опытом, на протяжении многих лет занимали одно из ключевых мест в истории развития филологической науки.

В 2015 г. кафедра преобразована в кафедру русской филологии и мировой литературы. 

Возглавляет кафедру русской филологии и мировой литературы член-корреспондент НАН РК, д.филол.н., профессор Джолдасбекова Баян Умирбековна.

Первым заведующим кафедры русского языка и русской литературы был доцент Андрузский А.Я. (1938-1943), а с 1943 г. кафедрой руководил известный ученый в области романо-германских литератур, автор целого ряда исследовательских трудов по проблемам романтизма западноевропейской литературы, профессор Берковский Наум Яковлевич. Официально первым заведующим кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы стал доцент, позднее д.ф.н., профессор, ведущий бальзаковед Гербстман Александр Иосифович. На различных этапах становления кафедру возглавляли видные ученые, оставившие заметный след в российской и казахстанской науке. К.ф.н., доцент Поссе Татьяна Владимировна, дочь известного русского публициста, начала педагогическую деятельность в КазГУ в 1939 г. Будучи выпускницей историко-филологического факультета знаменитых Бестужевских курсов, законченных ею в 1912 г., она свободно владела английским и французским языками. До приезда в Алма-Ату в 1933 г. работала в различных учреждениях по направлению Наркомпроса. В 1944 г. защитила кандидатскую диссертацию «Идеи и образы в творчестве Д. Мамина-Сибиряка» в Совете КазГУ им. С.М. Кирова, с 1944 по 1956 год исполняла обязанности зав. кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы.

С 1962 по 1966 год кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы заведовала Стеклова Фаина Ивановна, закончившая литературный факультет Калининского государственного педагогического университета и защитившая кандидатскую диссертацию по раннему творчеству А. Мицкевича в 1949 г. Ее постоянным научным приоритетом стала тема межнациональных литературных связей.

С 1966 по 1970 год с перерывами кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы заведовал Мадзигон Михаил Васильевич. Выпускник первого набора студентов филологического факультета и первого набора в аспирантуру КазГУ по западноевропейской литературе, в 1963 г. защищает кандидатскую диссертацию «Реализм раннего творчества Ч. Диккенса». В период 1962-1972 гг. обязанности завкафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы исполняли ученые-литературоведы, проработавшие в университете как долгие годы, так и оказавшиеся на кафедре временно: Маловичко Александр Лазаревич, Габдиров Илеукен Хамидуллинович, Кендыбаев Файзулла Бурасович.

Около двадцати лет (с 1972 по 1991 год) кафедрой руководила д.ф.н., профессор Кереева-Канафиева Кальсим Шакировна, как и Мадзигон М.В., выпускница филологического факультета КазГУ 1941 года. До этого она в 1937-1938 годах училась на педрабфаке Омска. Поступив в аспирантуру КазГУ в 1945 году, в 1946 она была прикомандирована к аспирантуре Ленинградского государственного университета. В 1946 г., будучи ассистентом кафедры русской и зарубежной литературы, Кальсим Шакировна успешно защищает кандидатскую диссертацию «Казахи в русской литературе и журналистике 1730-1840-х годов», в 1973 г. - докторскую диссертацию «Русско-казахские литературные отношения» в Специализированном Совете Ленинградского госуниверситета.

Огромный вклад в укрепление научного авторитета кафедры в республике и за рубежом внесла д.ф.н., профессор Багизбаева Мая Михайловна. Выпускница филологического факультета Московского государственного университета им. М.В. Ломоносова, в 1985 г. Мая Михайловна защищает докторскую диссертацию «Фольклор семиреченских казаков». В 1991 г. возглавила кафедру русской и зарубежной литературы. Мая Михайловна всегда активно участвовала в научной и общественной жизни коллектива: была членом Ученого совета факультета, председателем Диссертационного Совета К 14 А.01.24, членом Специализированного Совета по защите докторских диссертаций при НАН РК, академиком АН ВШ, членом Ученого совета университета, членом Президиума Союза женщин при Президенте РК и председателем Союза женщин КазГУ. За многолетний добросовестный труд Указом Президиума Верховного Совета Казахской ССР она была награждена медалью «Ветеран труда», за заслуги в области высшего образования СССР - нагрудными знаками «За отличные успехи в работе» и «Заслуженный деятель науки и техники".

Багизбаева М.М., академик ВШРК, д.ф.н., профессор

Сагалович Светлана Михайловна - выпускница филологического факультета КазГУ им. С.М. Кирова 1960 года, в 1999-2002 гг. исполняла обязанности заведующей кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы. В 1984 году защитила кандидатскую диссертацию «Принципы художественного отражения казахской действительности в творчестве А.С. Сорокина.

Ашимханова Светлана Ашимхановна, доктор филологических наук, профессор, руководила кафедрой с 2002 по 2005 г. В 1967 г. обучавшаяся в аспирантуре МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова и успешно защитившая там кандидатскую диссертацию. В 1999 г. защитила докторскую диссертацию по теории литературы «Поэтика прозы Г. Мусрепова», выпустила монографию «Мир Габита Мусрепова», отмеченную в 2002 г. первой премией им. Ч. Валиханова в области гуманитарных наук.

В 2005-2007 году руководила кафедрой Абишева Улболсын Курмангалиевна, выпускница филологического факультета КазГУ, защитила кандидатскую диссертацию под руководством профессора Багизбаевой М.М. В 2006 г. защитила докторскую диссертацию в Специализированном Совете МГУ «Неореализм в русской литературе 1900-1910-х годов».

С 2008 года по настоящее время возглавляет кафедру член-корреспондент НАН РК, доктор филологических наук, профессор  Баян Умирбековна Джолдасбекова, выпускница филологического факультета КазГУ им. С.М. Кирова. В 2002 г. она успешно защитила кандидатскую диссертацию "Художественное своеобразие эпической прозы И.П. Шухова", а в 2006 г. - докторскую диссертацию "Русская эпическая проза Казахстана 20-70-х годов XX века". Баян Умирбековна принимает активное участие в научной и общественной жизни университета: член Диссертационного Совета Д14А.02.22 по присуждению ученой степени доктора филологических наук при КазНУ им. аль-Фараби, член Ученого совета университета, председатель Союза женщин КазНУ. Профессор Джолдасбекова Б.У. - победитель Республиканского конкурса и обладатель гранта МОН РК "Лучший преподаватель вуза" (2008 г., 2014 г.), "Лучший преподаватель КазНУ им. аль-Фараби" (2009г.). За добросовестный труд награждена почетным знаком "75 лет КазНУ им. аль-Фараби", почетными грамотами.